Chop chop!

I have always HATED getting my hair cut. I don’t know why. It’s probably similar to why I don’t like going to the doctor or going to the dentist. I’m not quite sure why; I just don’t like it.

A few months ago, I had been wanting to get my hair cut for a while – I didn’t even like my previous cut to begin with. I’d been putting it off though, because I just really don’t like going. And besides, I never seem to have time for that sort of thing. So I decided I was going to attempt one of the bravest things I’ve done (yes I’m kind of a wuss, so this really is one of the bravest things I’ve done) and do it myself! I’ve actually really been wanting to learn because as a kid, I always wished my mom could cut my hair.I watched a couple of video tutorials and away I went.

Here are the videos I watched, in case you’d like to try it yourself sometime!

Cosmopolitan

Carina from YouTube

I didn’t follow exactly what they did…I kinda just trimmed and trimmed and trimmed while I watched some episodes of Psych (classic me, “multi-tasking”). I was pretty pleased with how I did, considering I had never cut hair before. Except for this one time in 8th grade when I cut my own bangs and they reached like the middle of my forehead. Yeah. It was bad.

Anyway, so, after my lovely success story, I decided to try it again. This time I wanted to cut it short. I put my hair in a pony tail so I could cut enough to donate. Here’s the video of me freaking out as I cut off my loooooong pony tail.

(Side note: If you watched the video, you may have noticed a large black speck floating around on my camera. I don’t know what it is. Sometimes it moves to a different spot, sometimes it disappears altogether . . . it’s quite the mystery. If you can explain it, please tell me!!!)

Everything was exciting and great and whatever, until I took out the pony tail and realized what it looked like in the back . . . the front was great, and exactly what I wanted. The back, well, I wish I could show you a picture, but it was so awful that I couldn’t bring myself to take a picture. I don’t have a warranty on my phone, so I didn’t want to take any risk of breaking the camera. Ha.

My lovely angel roommate did her best to fix it, but it was pretty much beyond repair already at this point. She got it good enough that I could go to class in the morning. Then I went to a salon and got it touched up. I’m not saying I’ll never cut my own hair again, because now I know what not to do. That’s valuable knowledge that I need to utilize! Ha, ha. All joking aside, I really do think I’m going to continue cutting my own hair, at least when it’s longer and I’m not doing anything fancy. I’ll leave the shorter cuts to the professionals, though.

The final product!

Anyway, in case you were wondering, I do love the new hair. It’s like the “accident” child that ends up becoming the favorite, or the cooking mishap that turns out delicious. Success!

One thought on “Chop chop!

Leave a Reply

