No-Chocolate November

chocolate saladone-does-not-simply-eat-only-one-piece-of-chocolate

I know what you’re thinking. First of all, why would anyone ever deprive themself of chocolate for an entire month? Second, the Aubrey I know would never be able to do that; am I reading the right blog?

chickfilashake

It’s true, though. I did it. I don’t really know why, to be honest, and I had to explain myself countless times. Like when I asked for a Chick-fil-A peppermint shake without the chocolate chips, and the girl working the register was in tears because she was so impressed with my determination to fulfill a personal dream. Just kidding, she actually was just like “that’s so impressive! I wish I could give you the shake for free!” so I said, “can you?” and she said she couldn’t. Disappointing, but the shake was still ridiculously good, of course.

Or when I ate a delicious cookie fro
m my visiting teachers and my roommates watched as I picked out every chocolate chip. If by some strange twist of fate you come across this post, lovely visiting teachers, the cookies were delicious, just like I said, and I hope you aren’t offended that I didn’t eat them in the intended fashion. I still felt loved and your mission was accomplished and I mostly just hope you don’t actually read this. Okay.

graham canyonOr when they had gallons on gallons of BYU Creamery ice cream after stake conference and I was like no way I’m passing up a free scoop of Graham Canyon! I just ate around the little chocolate covered graham cracker pieces (which are actually the best part, but whatevs).

 

The more I tell about this, the more I realize how pointless this must sound. It’s not like I actually received any health benefits from cutting out chocolate for one month, since I basically ate whatever the heck I wanted as long as it wasn’t chocolate.

But hey, there’s something to be said for just having enough self-control to do something hard. Did I miss chocolate that much? Not really, though by some cruel twist of fate, I had more Frosty cravings than I have in the past year, probably. But was I seriously tempted when mom pulled out th
e chocolate-covered macadamia nut clusters from Costco on Thanksgiving? YES. Was I seriously tempted when I went to my friend’s house and her mom had made fudge?! OF COURSE. But I survived!

frosty

It felt good and it forced me to be a little bit creative, so I decided I’m going to do it again this month – but with soda, not chocolate. I don’t drink soda as much as I eat chocolate, but I think it’ll be good anyway.

And you better believe I’m going to enjoy all the holiday chocolate that is surely coming my way (there’s a reason I chose November, not December . . . hehe).

Leave a Reply

