Two days, one million sites. Not exaggerating

OK so maybe I’m exaggerating a LITTLE bit . . .

But! Sunday and Monday last week were both fabulous, busy, walk-all-over-the-place-and-try-to-avoid-getting-sunburned type days. Because we have the Sabbath on Saturday here, Sunday is a free day to go exploring, shopping, sight-seeing, etc. (strange, huh? It’s weird how easy it was to get used to, though). Then, Mondays are field trip days with the class so they cart us all around the land in buses and fire-hose a bunch of information and stories into our brains without ever skipping a beat. Needless to say, after this week, I have a lot of pictures. Especially because I’m still in the fresh tourist phase where it seems important to take photos of everything that looks marginally nice, cool, or interesting. And one final note before you see all the pics: please comment if you have any additional comments about a place we went (because I still feel as if I know nothing about what I’m doing) or if you want to know what something is.

IMG_4075

IMG_4092
HOLEY WALL!

IMG_4094

IMG_4100
A super-white tourist seeks shelter from the sun.

IMG_4103

IMG_4105
This bird hissed at me right before this sooo yeah.

IMG_4111IMG_4114IMG_4121IMG_4123IMG_4127IMG_4132IMG_4136IMG_4138IMG_4140IMG_4144

IMG_4145
Work hard, play hard, then collapse on the floor because your legs literally won’t move anymore and be grateful it’s not like the mission where you come home feeling like that and still need to do a planning session

IMG_403220160502_141745

20160502_085125

I forgot the memory card for my camera on field trip day, so I just have this lovely low-quality phone photo. However, you can still get a sense of this amazing church.

 

20160502_084956

IMG_4046

IMG_4048
Holey wall!

IMG_4057IMG_4064IMG_4070

The rest of the week was great, too. I did a little bit of studying (not too much) and got to know the people here better. We got to go to the Western Wall and welcome in the Sabbath along with thousands (personal rough estimate, I have no idea how many people were actually there) of Jewish people. They love to sing and dance and pray at the wall to welcome in the “Shabbat” on Friday night, and we got to participate! Luckily, we had learned one song in our Hebrew class so we could sing along at a few parts. We must have seemed to know what we were doing, because at one point, a girl walking by stopped and whispered something to me in Hebrew. It was so shocking that I kind of jumped and looked at her like “WHAT? I DON’T KNOW WHAT’S HAPPENING” and she said “oh, sorry, I didn’t realize you didn’t speak Hebrew. What time is it?” Hopefully that will be the next thing we learn in Hebrew class . . .

Leave a Reply

