Jericho/Sunday Funday

Last week’s field trip was Jericho. We got to see some of the oldest structures and locations of civilizations we can still see today. It was a fascinating trip. We even attempted (key word: attempted) to sing “Battle of Jericho” on the bus ride home, but turns out we aren’t quite at the level of MoTab . . . still fun.

IMG_4839
Dates on a date palm in Jericho!

IMG_4843

IMG_4845
Me & Allie
IMG_4849
Overlooking Jericho
IMG_4852
Overlooking the other side of Jericho
IMG_4861
One of the oldest man-made structures still standing
IMG_4863
Forgot my sunnies. NEVER AGAIN
IMG_4875
Probably part of the wall that fell down when the Israelites walked around it
IMG_4877
Too bad we couldn’t ride in this. . .  We always just walk around 🙂

 

IMG_4881
The spring that sprang forth in the desert when Jesse smote the rod or whatever that story is! What! Pretty much the only spring around so they’re fairly sure it’s this one.

And a few more from the field trip that day.

IMG_4824
WOW.
IMG_4827
WOW again!
IMG_4831
A monastery meant to be secluded from the world and subsequently closer to God.

Then when we had free time one day I went out, just with 2 friends, into the city to explore a little bit. We went to Caiaphas’s palace and the church built around it. It is probably one of my favorite places so far, because it’s one of the places where we know pretty much exactly what happened there and it’s beautifully taken care of. Here are photos from that and other random happenings.

IMG_4821
First falafel in the city! Can’t believe it took me this long . . .
IMG_4890
Got a huge thorny weed stuck in my skirt. R u kiddimg meh
IMG_4896
Aubs & Aubs

IMG_4899

IMG_4906
I love how there are just ruins everywhere from some ancient society and they are just commonplace here. Crazy.
IMG_4907
HELLO!

IMG_4912

IMG_4919
The church I was talking about

IMG_4921

IMG_4923
Peter denied Christ here, and he’s been remembered for it ever since. I hope I leave behind good memories of a strong testimony that couldn’t be shaken, denied, or compromised for anything. “I’ll never, no never, no never forsake.”

IMG_4924

Then, you may have noticed that the title included “Sunday Funday” because WOW, this Sunday was fantastic! Since Saturday is the Sabbath here, we spent Sunday in Eilat, where there is incredible snorkeling in the Red Sea. I’ll admit, this one wasn’t much of a spiritual excursion reflecting about Moses parting the Red Sea. It was mostly just a really fun time! And many thanks to Allie who brought her waterproof camera!

IMG_6992
SPOILER ALERT: THE RED SEA IS NOT RED. I REPEAT, THE RED SEA IS NOT RED.

IMG_7013IMG_7014

IMG_7016
Working really hard on that Chaco tanline
DSCF0012
Schools of Mormons
IMG_7022
“My skin hasn’t seen the sun in months, so hopefully this doesn’t blind anyone” -all of us were thinking this, probably

DSCF0036DSCF0060DSCF0120

DSCF0131
It’s harder than I thought to take cool underwater pictures . . .

And then, today’s field trip!!! (If you are still awake/stuck it out this far, I salute you. This was a long one).

IMG_7055
I was too distracted by this guy to pay much attention at one of our sites today . . .
IMG_7073
Descending into an ancient dovecote . . .
IMG_7080
Doves were cultivated and would live in here. It’s very holey . . . oh you thought I forgot about that pun, didn’t you? Haha! Never!

IMG_7106

IMG_7111
We can see the Greek influence here . . . lol who am I kidding I remember nothing
IMG_7123
Slinging stones like David!
IMG_7126
Basically a pro! . . . at looking awkward in photos
IMG_7144
Overlooking the valley where we slung the stones. I mean, WHERE DAVID BEAT GOLIATH

IMG_7146

Check it out, kids, I got to use a sling JUST LIKE DAVID and I totally protected this valley from a giant Philistine and saved my family and civilization!

So maybe I didn’t do all of that, but it was really fun to actively see what it would have been like to be David, be where he was, and remember that God helps us slay our own personal Goliaths. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be to use the sling. Of course I should qualify this, because David flinging a large stone with perfect accuracy and enough speed to take out an enormous man is a different story than what we did. But everyone had made it seem like it was impossibly hard to even use the sling at all. And I know that David had God’s help, so he was able to do what was asked. Just like sometimes doing what the Lord prompts us to do sounds impossible but ends up being perfectly achievable.  And with this highly professional video, I leave you for now.

Leave a Reply

