I went thinking I’d be a beach bum, but I actually turned into a somewhat more responsible adult

Like I said in post #1 about Galilee, I absolutely fell in love with the area and was sad to leave. (That’s how I feel about the Holy Land in general, but I try not to talk about the fact that I’ll have to leave soon).

But Galilee was pivotal for me because I had a breakthrough. I’ve always believed that deep down inside of me there existed a morning person, and I think I’ve finally found her! It helps the cause a little bit to have a gorgeous beach where you can wake up and write in your journal as the sun rises, and go for a jog and see towering palm trees every way you turn. I got in the habit of waking up early while there and I hope to continue. Especially because I have heard a noticeable number of people quote President Hinckley about this over the past few weeks and I think it is a direct message to me about what I should be improving: “If you go to bed at 10:00 and get up by 6:00 a.m., things will work out for you.” There’s an article that cites this that I found very motivating if you want to read it. (I’ll be honest, I didn’t read every word. Gotta keep a tight schedule so I can go to bed at 10! Lol. I have a test tomorrow. Should I just test it out and go to bed even if I don’t finish studying? I doubt the promise applies if you’re spending all your time blogging . . . hm . . .)

Anyway, now that you know I’m on the path to becoming one of those nutty people who wakes up early every day and exercises before attending to their mundane responsibilities, here are the rest of my photos from Galilee!

IMG_8238
St. Peter’s fish! (Tilapia)
IMG_8240
OK so this picture is deceiving. I didn’t ACTUALLY bit its head like that. I probably tricked you with the super believable photo though, right?
IMG_8243
WOW sunsets over Galilee!!!
IMG_8266
I don’t really know what I’m doing here. This was just a cool place we hiked to

IMG_8277IMG_8281

IMG_8295
This looks modern but it’s actually a thousands-of-years-old sacrificial altar (I think that’s what it was?) pretty cool huh?!
IMG_8308
Lapping from the spring where the soldiers drank from and the ones who used their hands were the wise ones. I am not wise, apparently. This is why we study the scriptures.
IMG_8319
Thought I’d better have a photo of what I see every time we go on a field trip.
IMG_8322
All the Allisons at the headwaters of the Jordan River! (For some reason we all started calling each other Allison).
IMG_8342
Brookie!
IMG_8348
Another waterfall. SO GORGEOUS. Can’t swim in this one though, bummer, woulda been nice, it was HOT that day
IMG_8350
Bri and Brittany! Love these girls.
IMG_8354
Christa! We are at Caesarea Philippi, where Paul testified of the Christ. Is our testimony as firm as these rocks? Hopefully.

IMG_8356

IMG_8379
Bekah, Alison, Alison, Alison

IMG_8382

IMG_8385
Cool scrap metal art at an old battle site.
IMG_8392
Crusader period castle that has been turned into a museum. So much fun!
IMG_8402
Abby, Scott, and mossy green stuff on the wall of a creepy tunnel under the castle.

IMG_8408

IMG_8414
Made it to the Mediterranean Sea!

IMG_8417IMG_8425

IMG_8436
View from the top of Mt. Carmel

IMG_8446IMG_8448IMG_8453

IMG_8458
Bahai gardens in Haifa, Israel

IMG_8461IMG_8469

IMG_8485
Templar’s cemetery in Haifa, Israel. Two early missionaries from the church died and were buried here.

IMG_8488

IMG_8500
One of the early converts to the church in Israel.
IMG_8510
Another ancient Roman city, Caesarea!
Leave a Reply

